h1

Expert Advice About A Slip And Fall Claim

January 31, 2009

Subject: Fell in restaurant at Gaylord Palms Resort

Question: I was meeting my co-workers for dinner at a restaurant inside a hotel resort.  One second I was walking with the Hostess, the next I was on my back.  I injured my lower back and hip area pretty bad.  The Restaurant Manager told me (in front of my co-workers) she knows the floor is slippery as she has slipped several times.  She explained that the floors are not sanded well enough.  My lawyer here (Mass.) tried to settle the case but the insurance rep for the hotel is denying liability.  He states he spoke with the restaurant manager as well as my witnesses (they have never spoken with him) and all state that there was nothing on the floor that I slipped on.  I need to find a lawyer in Fl in the area of the hotel.  Before I get another lawyer, do I have a case?  They have not paid for anything (not even medical).

Answer: I am a lawyer in Florida, but I need more information to be able to give you advice on how to proceed with your slip and fall claim.  Your attorney in Mass would also have to consent to me, or any other attorney in Florida, speaking to you while you are currently represented.

An unreasonably slippery floor can form the basis for a claim if you slip and fall because of the slipperiness, and get injured.  A landowner generally owes two duties to business invitees – to maintain the
premises in a reasonably safe condition, and to warn people of dangerous conditions on the property which business invitees may not be able to appreciate. If the floor was unreasonably slippery and people had slipped on the floor previous to you, you may have a claim to pursue. You probably want to do a site inspection, or even have an expert go to the hotel and inspect the floor, assuming it has not been changed since your accident occurred.

If its the Gaylord Palms in Kissimmee, that is a very large resort which probably has many slip and fall claims and trip and fall claims annually.  However, it is not unusual for an insurance company to deny liability for a slip and fall, especially when you are represented by an attorney from out of state.

Whether you have a slip and fall claim worth pursuing depends on the specific facts of your case.  I would be happy to talk to you further about the circumstances surrounding your fall, and your injuries and medical care. You can contact me toll free at (866) 556-5529.

Good Luck.

For more information about a slip and fall claim, contact Florida premises liability lawyer Joseph M. Maus at 1-866-556-5529 or email him today.

Leave a Reply

