h1

Hotel Shower Slip And Fall Case Question

May 27, 2009

The following is an expert answer given by Florida Slip And Fall Case Lawyer, Joseph M. Maus, and taken from AllExperts.com, a free Q & A service on the internet:

Subject: Slip and fall in a hotel

Question: I was in a hotel room in popular vacation spot in Virginia. I turned the water on in the shower before undressing in the hotel room. When I returned to enter the shower, unbeknownst to me the curtain rail was up too high and had been letting water out onto the floor (yes I had put down the wimpy little bath mat). When I attempted to enter the shower I slipped on the pool of water. I was lucky to have grabbed a pole on the way down and only ended up hitting my leg. My leg was severely bruised. I reported it to the hotel and they asked me if I needed immediate medical attention. At the time I didn’t think I did so they had me fill out a incident report. After a few days of icing my leg, I decided there was a serious problem. I called the hotel, left messages, was never called back. It took almost two weeks to get a manager, then he said he was never given my information, then I was given a insurance number. Now insurance says just go to your doctor and they will reimburse me. My leg isn’t as bad now but still has notable injury, my back hurts all the time. Is that all I’m entitled to?

Answer: The answer to your question depends on the law in Virginia for a slip and fall case, and how bad your injuries are.  I specialize in slip and fall cases but I am in Florida.  Laws vary from state to state so the law in Florida may be different than for a Virginia slip and fall case.

The best advice I can give you is to speak with an attorney that specializes in premises liability claims, i.e. a slip and fall case.  He can advise you what the law is in Virginia for slip and fall accidents such as yours.

Generally, a landowner such as a hotel owes two duties to persons lawfully on the property – maintain the property in a reasonably safe condition, and to warn persons on the property of dangerous conditions that the person may not be able to appreciate themselves.  The placement of a shower curtain rail in too high a location so as to let water pool on the floor is a dangerous condition that the hotel should have corrected, or at least warned guests of the potential for water to accumulate on the floor.  If you can establish liability against the hotel, you should be entitled to compensation for your injury, pain and suffering, lost wages, and whatever benefits Virginia law allows.

You should contact an attorney in your area that specializes in premises liability claims.  Many attorneys say they do "personal injury" claims, but after asking around, you’ll find they take anything that walks in the door.  Ask if they have handled a slip and fall case and how many claims like yours they have handled.  Ask them if they have tried any cases like yours.  If it is a large hotel or resort, there are most likely other cases like yours which have occurred there.

You should contact an attorney soon.  There are many steps your attorney should take now, i.e. notify the insurance company for the resort find out what types of coverage are available, obtain photographs, etc, that should all be done now.

Most attorneys specializing in premises liability claims handle the claims on a contingent basis,i.e. their attorneys fee is a percentage of any money they recover for you, and offer a free, no-obligation consultation to discuss whether you have a viable case.

For more information about a slip and fall case, contact Florida premises liability lawyer Joseph M. Maus at 1-866-556-5529, visit his website at http://www.jmmlawyers.com, or email him today.

Leave a Reply

