h1

Razors Are Sharp! Personal Injury Protection Expert Advice

August 21, 2009

The following is an expert answer given by Personal Injury Protection Lawyer, Joseph M. Maus, and taken from AllExperts.com, a free Q & A service on the internet:

Subject: Old razor and toothbrush left in hotel bed

Question: My husband, daughter, and I stayed at a hotel in Wilmington, NC. My 3 year old pulled back the covers on our bed and crawled underneath them. She was hiding when I came out of the kitchen to see what she was doing. She was still under the covers, so I pulled them back to find her chewing on a used toothbrush (not ours) and trying to shave her leg with a razor (also not mine) I swiftly took the toothbrush away from her, put the cap back on the razor and put it in a bag. I took it downstairs and reported it to the front desk. I asked for clean sheets because I figured the bed had not been changed either. When I came back up stairs, I noticed that my little girl had a small cut on her ankle. What should I do? I didn’t notice blood before I took the razor and I can’t be certain she was cut. The baby doctor said there aren’t a whole lot of tests that can be run immediately but she was given antibiotics.  I have tried to contact the hotel but have gotten no response. What should I do?

Answer: The answer to your questions depends on the law in NC for premises liability claims. I specialize in Florida personal injury protection claims such as car accidents, slip and fall cases, and work accidents.  However, laws vary from state to state so what happens in a Florida personal injury protection case may not be the same in NC.

The best advice I can give you is do speak with an attorney about your personal injury protection claim.  He can advise you what the law is in NC for an incident such as yours.  The primary question that I don’t know the answer to is whether you have a claim simply based upon the anxiety and uncertainty associated with what happened, or does there need to be a resulting sickness, infection, etc. before making a claim.  I am not trying to minimize what happened because it is pretty outrageous, but Florida has what is called the "impact rule" which in certain cases requires a person to actually suffer a physical injury, rather than just anxiety associated with an incident that occurred.

Generally, a hotel owes two duties to persons lawfully on the property – maintain the property in a reasonably safe condition, and to warn persons on the property of dangerous conditions that the person may not be able to appreciate themselves.  By the facts you have described, I would say the hotel absolutely breached these duties.

Most Florida accident and injury attorneys will see you for a free consultation to evaluate your case.  I am guessing lawyers in NC will do the same so you have nothing to lose by meeting with an attorney.  Additionally, the lawyer will know how best to pursue the personal injury protection claim, i.e. preserve evidence and witnesses, obtain insurance information, and move the claim forward.

For more information about personal injury protection, contact South Florida injury attorney Joseph M. Maus at 1-866-556-5529, visit his website at jmmlawyers.com, or email him today.

Leave a Reply

